
 
 Procedure for Requesting FMLA Leave  
 
(1) Employees requesting FMLA leave must initially contact AbsencePRO at 877-365-2666 and file 
their initial claim for FMLA. When the need for leave is foreseeable, the employee must provide at 
least 30 days’ advance notice. When 30 days notice is not possible, the employee must provide notice 
as soon as practicable and explain why advance notice was not given. The employee must also 
comply with the department’s normal call-in procedures. Within five business days of AbsencePRO 
receiving your initial claim, they will provide the employee with the required Notice of Eligibility 
and Rights and in many FMLA circumstances a certification form which would require a medical 
professional to complete.  
 
(2) Employees must provide sufficient information to AbsencePRO to determine if the leave may 
qualify for FMLA protection and the anticipated timing and duration of the leave. Sufficient 
information may include that the employee is unable to perform job functions, the family member is 
unable to perform daily activities, the need for hospitalization or continuing treatment by a health 
care provider, or circumstances supporting the need for military family leave.  
 
(3) AbsencePRO will require a complete and sufficient certification for the employee’s serious health 
condition, or that of family member, or for military family leave. The employee must respond to such 
a request for information within 15 days of the request or provide a reasonable explanation for the 
delay. Recertifications supporting the need for leave and the employee’s intent to return to work may 
be requested periodically as allowed by law. Failure to provide complete and sufficient certification 
may result in a denial of continuation of leave. Medical and other certifications will be provided 
using the Department of Labor’s certification forms.  
 
(4) If there is a dispute about the medical opinion provided by any physician, Utah County may 
require a second opinion by a physician of its choice, at its expense. If a third opinion is necessary, a 
third doctor may be selected, also at Utah County's expense. The third doctor must be agreed upon by 
both the employee and Utah County, and the doctor may not be employed on a regular basis by Utah 
County.  
 
(5) Designation of FMLA Leave  
After the employee has submitted the appropriate certification forms, AbsencePRO will provide the 
employee with a written (mail or email) response to the employee’s request for FMLA, indicating 
whether or not they are eligible for FMLA leave. Employees will be informed if the leave will be 
designated as FMLA-protected and the amount of leave counted against the employee’s FMLA 
entitlement. If eligible, the notice will specify any additional information required as well the 
employee’s rights and responsibilities. If the employee is not eligible, the County will provide a 
reason for the ineligibility. 
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